Our Team

Our team is comprised of researchers, scientific personnel, and support staff who have addressed food safety and security issues both nationally and internationally for almost two decades. Our subject matter experts combine researched-based content with the best practices in adult education.

Administration

Rob Atwill

Rob Atwill

DVM, MPVM, PhD

Director

ratwill@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-2154

Bennie Osburn

Bennie I. Osburn

DVM, PhD, Dipl. ACVP

Dean Emeritus
Director of Outreach and Training

biosburn@ucdavis.edu

(530) 757-5760

null

Michele Jay-Russell

DVM, MPVM, PhD, Dipl. ACVPM

Program Manager Western Center for Food Safety
Liaison to WIFSS

mjay@ucdavis.edu

(530) 219-4628

Support Staff

null

Nicole Nisson

Program Assistant

nsnisson@ucdavis.edu

(530) 757-5700

null

Robert Pattison

Management Services Officer

rpattison@ucdavis.edu

(530) 757-5750

Outreach and Training Programs Personnel

null

David Goldenberg

Food Safety and Security Training Coordinator

dgoldenberg@ucdavis.edu

(530) 757-5708

null

Mike Payne

DVM, PhD

Dairy Outreach Coordinator

mpayne@ucdavis.edu

(530) 757-5762

null

Gregory S. Wlasiuk

MA

E-Learning Curriculum Designer

gswlasiuk@ucdavis.edu

(530) 757-5711

null

Hasmita Patel

Student Office Assistant

haspatel@ucdavis.edu

(530) 757-5700

null

Goretti Alvarez

Student Office Assistant

goralvarez@ucdavis.edu

(530) 757-5700

null

Chris Brunner

Communications and International Programs Coordinator

cmbrunner@ucdavis.edu

(530) 757-5716

null

Heather Johnson

MS

Instructional Systems Designer

heajohnson@ucdavis.edu

(530) 757-5726

null

Tracey Stevens

Instructor/Trainer

tsstevens@ucdavis.edu

(530) 219-5390

null

Ana Araujo

Student Office Assistant

anaaraujo@ucdavis.edu

(530) 757-5700

null

Sara Garcia

PhD

Project Scientist

sargarcia@ucdavis.edu

(530) 757-5711

null

Emily Kunz

MFA

Graphic Designer and Web Developer

eawkunz@ucdavis.edu

null

Richard Thompson

Graphic Designer & Web Developer

rwthompson@ucdavis.edu

(530) 757-5711

null

Maria De Lourdes Orozco Ramirez

Student Office Assistant

mdlorozcoramirez@ucdavis.edu

(530) 757-5700

Research and Scientific Staff

null

Peiman Aminabadi

DVM, MPVM

Laboratory Manager

amin@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-9694

null

Xunde Li

PhD

Associate Researcher
Research Scientist

xdli@ucdavis.edu

(530) 753-0877

null

Ronald Bond

Water Quality Researcher, Field Coordinator

rfbond@ucdavis.edu

(530) 304-6036

null

Jennifer Chase

Laboratory Manager

jachase@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-9752

Research Support Staff: Atwill Lab

null

Katie Lee

Lab Assistant

lctlee@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-9752

null

Tran Nguyen

Lab Assistant

tphnguyen@ucdavis.edu

null

Xiaohong Wei

Jr. Specialist

xhcwei@ucdavis.edu

Research Support Staff: Jay-Russell Lab

null

Amlan Aggrawal

Lab Assistant

null

Anna K. Zwieniecka

MS

Lab Assistant II

azwieniecka@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-9694

Affiliates

null

John A. Angelos

DVM, PhD, DACVIM

Chair, Dept Veterinary Medicine, School of Veterinary Medicine

Subject Matter Expert

jaangelos@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-7407

null

Erin DiCaprio

PHD

Assistant Specialist in Cooperative Extension

eldicaprio@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-6594

null

Dr. Beatriz Martinez Lopez

PHD

Associate Professor, AES (20%), School of Veterinary Medicine

beamartinezlopez@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-7675

null

Frank M. Mitloehner

PHD

Professor and Air Quality Extension Specialist, Department of Animal Science

fmmitloehner@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-3936

null

Maurice Pitesky

DVM, MPVM, Dipl, ACVPM

Assistant specialist, School of Veterinary Medicine-Cooperative Extension

mepitesky@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-3215

null

Robert Poppenga

DVM, PhD, DABVT

Professor, California Animal Health and Food Safety Lab, Molecular Biosciences

rhpoppenga@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-8125

null

Dr. Jeffrey Stott

PHD

Professor
Pathology, Microbiology & Immunology

jlstott@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-2543

null

James S. Cullor

BS, DVM, PhD

Professor Emeritus School of Veterinary Medicine

jscullor@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-6181

null

Edward J. DePeters

PHD

Distinguished Professor, Department of Animal Science Master Advisor for Animal Science Major

ejdepeters@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-1263

null

Michael Luo

MS

Agricultural Extension Education Specialist

michaellcd163@gmail.com

(530) 757-5700

null

Elina L. Niño

BS, MS, PHD

Assistant Extension Apiculturist

elnino@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-1537

null

Richard Pereira

PHD

Assistant Professor, Population Health & Reproduction

rvpereira@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-2503

null

Jorge Rodrigues

BSC, MSC, PHD

Associate Professor, Department of Land, Air and Water Resources

jmrodrigues@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-1552

null

Luxin Wang

PHD

Assistant Professor in Food Science and Technology

lxwang@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-7552

null

Johnathan David Dear

DVM

Assistant Professor of Clinical
Medicine & Epidemiology

jddear@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-1393

null

Terry W Lehenbauer

BS, DVM, MPVM, PhD

Professor, Population Health & Reproduction

tlehenbauer@vmtrc.ucdavis.edu

(559) 688-1731

null

Maeli Melotto

PHD, MSc, BSc

Associate Professor
Faculty
Plant Sciences Executive Committee – Agricultural Plant Biology

melotto@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-1747

null

Melissa Partyka

MS, PhD

Extension Specialist at Auburn University

m.partyka@auburn.edu

null

Alda Pires

DVM, MPVM, PhD, Dipl. ACVPM

Assistant Specialist in Cooperative Extension

apires@ucdavis.edu

(530) 754-9855

Xiang Yang portrait

Xiang (Crystal) Yang

MS, PHD

Assistant Professor and Meat Scientist in Department of Animal Science

xcryang@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752-6590